NEW BILLIE ALBUM ALERT: ‘Hit Me Hard and Soft’

The album cover for Billie Eilish’s third studio album, ‘HIT ME HARD AND SOFT’, that drops on May 17.
The album cover for Billie Eilish’s third studio album, ‘HIT ME HARD AND SOFT’, that drops on May 17.

  On April 8, Billie Eilish announced her third studio album titled, “Hit Me Hard and Soft.” This announcement was made via Instagram where she posted the main cover art for the album, which pictures Eilish sinking in water once she’s gone through a door that looms over her. 

  Although there will be no official single drops before the album release, we have had many hints into the nature of the songs. Earlier this month, across major cities around the world, there were billboards solely showcasing lyrics like, “Do you know how to bend?” or “Did I cross the line?” All billboards had a black background with electric blue lettering and Eilish’s signature blohsh symbol. It was speculated that these odd popups were in fact lyrics that are within the new tracks on “HIT ME HARD AND SOFT.” 

  More recently, during the recent first weekend of Coachella, Billie Eilish had a party on the Do LaB stage where she briefly played snippets of three of her upcoming songs on the new album. These tracks were, “Lunch,” “L’Amour de ma vie,” and “Chihiro.” They all included very loud and hard hitting beats that have a similar effect to dance hall music. 

  Loads of fans have commented on videos including the leaked songs saying how the back beats are reminiscent of her single from her first album, “ilomilo” or even the classic tune featured on the classroom game, ‘Kahoot.’ Furthermore, fans have connected the similarities between the dark aesthetic of “HIT ME HARD AND SOFT” promotional content and the capital letters of the title with her debut studio album, “WHEN WE ALL FALL ASLEEP, WHERE DO WE GO?”

  Millbrook sophomore and Billie Eilish fan, Micah Ferguson, shares his excitement towards the upcoming drop. “I’m definitely excited for the new album. I feel like all her albums just keep getting better and better. Last album was definitely really good, I loved all the songs, so she just really has to step it up this time.”

  The fans are hungry for May 17 to come along and for the album to be theirs. The tracklist reads as follows:

  1. “Skinny”
  2. “Lunch”
  3. “Chihiro”
  4. “Birds of a Feather”
  5. “Wildflower”
  6. “The Greatest”
  7. “L’Amour de ma vie”
  8. “The Diner”
  9. “Bittersuite”
  10. “Blue”

  The official drop of the album among all major music platforms is in exactly a month and it’s safe to say we will continue to receive little gems from this piece of work prior to that date. This 22-year-old, 9-time Grammy winner has yet to disappoint the modern day music world that she is currently paving. She has broken records and billboards with her accomplishments in conjunction with her age and the limited amount of work she has actually released. It is only the third studio album and the best is yet to come!

Leave a Comment
More to Discover

Comments (0)

All Cat Talk Picks Reader Picks Sort: Newest

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *